Reviews

8.9
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.1
Comfort
8.9
Property Location
8.8
Facilities
8.5
Staff
8.9
Value
9.1

Reviews

    Robert
    us

    Review Score

    10
    April 4, 2018

    We had a great visit in Sukhothai and the guesthouse was lovely. It was close to food and the night

    One small window that looked on a wall But the room was lovely and comfortable
    The staff was wonderful The bed was very comfortable Quiet A great value
    Karina
    ca

    Review Score

    9.6
    March 12, 2018
    One of the best places we stayed in for the value in Thailand. We stayed in an AC bungalow. The room was big, very clean and also comfortable. Towels and water bottles were provided everyday. The man who runs the place is very helpful especially with advice on the historical parks. We arrived very late at the bus station in sukhothai. We had only casually mentioned to the guesthouse that we would be arriving late yet they sent someone to pick us up. Tip: do tell them if you will arrive late because the lobby closes at 9pm. The guesthouse is in the new city; far from the historical parks but only a 30baht, 30minute ride away. Theres still some markets to see around and it’s close to the bus station. Also- the breakfast they sell is well-worth the price, delicious and with large servings
    theresa
    us

    Review Score

    10
    March 3, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    theresa
    us

    Review Score

    8.8
    February 19, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Nicolas Cornelissen
    de

    Review Score

    10
    February 1, 2018

    Total recommendation!

    The owners are super friendly. The Internet works perfectly and the showers are the best we've ever had.
    fr

    Review Score

    10
    April 17, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Kathleen
    au

    Review Score

    8.8
    March 28, 2018

    A charming restful break after the hassle of Bangkok and Chiang Mai. We loved the ancient city.

    The electric shower had minimal heat power. It was just about warm, which is maybe OK in this climate. There was no kettle for making tea or coffee, nor any tea cups. No clothes storage other than a rack of coat hooks on the wall. We were there in late March, when it is getting too hot in the day to sit on the balcony, even though it is shady. There is a desk with a heavy chair, but we suggested to the owner that a small table with two light chairs to sit inside in the air-con would be good. There is sufficient space. Small bedside tables would also be welcome.
    We had a cute little en-suite wooden bungalow, which had a big double bed with a mosquito net, but we found that the room is sufficiently mossie-proof not to need it, with tight-fitting doors and insect screens on the windows and the bathroom air vent. The air-con was effective, and we slept very comfortably, other than being occasionally wakened by bullfrogs! There is a small fridge. Outside there is a delightful balcony to sit, and this faces a pleasant and well-kept garden with the scent of lots of frangipani trees. Up by the main building there is a fish pond, elevated at waist level, stocked with big koi carp, which would see us and swim up with their mouths gaping for food. But we were advised NOT to feed them. It is very close to the river bridge and the centre of modern Sukhothai, with great street eating every night just across the bridge. The Saturday evening 'walking street' just across the river is not to be missed if you are there that day. The bus stop for ancient Sukhothai (the signs say "Old CIty") is only 100 metres away, and the ride is just 30 Baht. There is a good 7/11 very close by, with plenty of snacks, yogurt, milk etc.
    Børge Ambjørn
    dk

    Review Score

    8.8
    March 19, 2018

    A big hut in a nice quiet place in a shady garden. Near shops and restaurants. Helpful personale.

    Only one chair to two people.
    A very clean place. Very near the restaurants and the bus to Old Sukhothai. A nice hut with a big balcony in a shady garden.
    Kamil
    pl

    Review Score

    10
    March 18, 2018

    One of the best I stayed in Thailand

    We stayed there only for 1 night :( as we moved to other city.
    Fenomenal place for stay. Very clean and comfortable. 40m from main road so you cannot hear the traffic noise at all. Great bathroom. AC was silent. Bed very comfortable. WiFi excellent. Close to scooter rent and good food.
    James
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    March 11, 2018
    Originally intended to stay two nights, though upon arrival extended to four. Lovely stay, very welcoming, perfect location, excellent facilities. Owner was very accommodating and helpful. One of the best guesthouse experiences I have had whilst travelling Thailand.
    Peter
    gb

    Review Score

    7.1
    February 26, 2018

    Indifferent welcome

    10 minute ride from the bus station, where you’ll be organised into songtheuws depending on where you’re staying. 50 baht each. It’s worth noting that the going rate for a tuk tuk to/from town is 60 baht, but you’ll annoy people if you wander off to look for one! I upgraded to stay in a bungalow because it was cheap but, in hindsight, a room would probably have been a better bet. There’s a balcony, but there’s so many mosquitoes around it’s pretty much off limits. Bathroom is basic, shower didn’t get too hot, and the WiFi was so-so. For the money, though, you still can’t go wrong. All in all, my stay was fine but, contrary to some other reviewers, I found the owner to be pretty cold. By this I mean no smiles, no conversation, 300 baht deposit for key, and a list of rules thrust in front of me as soon as I arrived after an 8 hour journey. I elected not to eat at TR, for the most part because of the welcome I received. On the one occasion I asked for help (the day before I left I asked them to book an early morning tuk tuk to the bus station), I was told it wouldn’t be a problem. Then, when I checked out, the owner basically told me someone else had just taken one and there weren’t any more. He made a brief attempt to help (by glancing around) then advised walking down the road to find one somewhere. I did, but had this not worked out I’d have missed my bus. One thing worth pointing out....I’m not sure whether there was a special reason for it, but all the main restaurants in town seemed to close around 9am - earlier than their stated times - on the Saturday night of my stay. It’s personal taste, but of the main places I visited, I’d rate them thus: Poo - easily the best food and nicest environment Dream Cafe - a close second (but quiet) Pai - very decent, nice staff, keen prices, outdoor seats at the back at night 64000 - great, small outdoor bar with cool vibe/DJ Chopper - friendly owner (he gave everyone fruit!
    2-night stay at TR to visit the historical park. Good location in new town. Keen price.
    Louvet92
    nl

    Review Score

    8.3
    February 19, 2018
    A very clean room, with a comfortable bed! Nice staff.
    Julien
    fr

    Review Score

    7.9
    February 4, 2018

    Nice and clean.

    Breakfast was good but not fulfilling enough for me.
    Great location for New Sukhothai but there is not much to do in this city. In the same street, swimming pool and motorbike to rent.
    Rean Tean
    my

    Review Score

    10
    February 3, 2018

    The heaven on earth guesthouse in Sukhothai.

    I fall in love.nothing I dont like.
    Clean, clean perfectly clean. Mr and Mrs Toh, the owner of this property are your best friend in town as there are very knowleable not only about their property but all the attractive places in this part of the country. Please dont smoke if possible but if you must,be ready to donate your blood to mosquitos at a designated spot.Best of all, you can stay in a 5 star guesthouse with your shoestring budget. The location is at the heart of the Sukhothai City next to the Yom River.
    Louis
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    February 1, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Gary
    gb

    Review Score

    7.9
    January 28, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    S.
    de

    Review Score

    9.6
    January 26, 2018
    Good breakfast, clean room, nice bathroom. Good stay in new sukhothai,
    Nick Ball
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    January 21, 2018

    Well priced guesthouse.

    Very close to night market and restaurants. Nice clean room and comfortable bed.
    th

    Review Score

    9.2
    January 14, 2018

    Accomodating Staff and Cozy Bungalows

    The bathroom was mostly clean and spacious though the shower water was barely warm and provided little focused water pressure to the extent it was shooting out at various sides of the shower head. Also, the majority of windows were left unlocked and we didn't notice this until returning later in the evening with our belongings in the rooms. Maybe one or two windows left unlocked by accident would have been fine, but not much safety and security is assured when all of them are left unlocked and easily accessible from the outside.
    Due to an error in room assignment we ended up staying in the Bungalows instead of the rooms and the staff was graciously accommodating and professional, which is not something you always get when staying at hotels, resorts, and hostels in Thailand. We are very thankful they offered us the upgraded rooms and would be willing to stay here again due to their authentic hospitality. The Bungalows were spacious and cozy with a comfortable bed, flat screen tv, fridge, and cute bench to sit/store our belongings. There was also a mosquito net over the bed which gave us a pleasant sleep without worrying about being bitten or the buzzing in our ears. The air conditioning was up to date, fully functional, and provided good cool air without having to adjust it much as we've had to do when staying in other locations. Overall, for the price we paid, the location, and staff, we would definitely stay here again. Thank you TR Guesthouse!
    chayada
    th

    Review Score

    7.9
    January 7, 2018

    comfort stay

Loading reviews...